Home » Healthy Food » Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

by Khadija Tahir
Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

Tortilla chips gluten free are nibble food varieties produced using tortillas, which are meager and unleavened flatbreads normally produced using corn or wheat flour.

Some tortilla chips might contain gluten, a gathering of proteins tracked down in wheat, rye, grain, and spelling. Gluten assists bread and other prepared merchandise with remaining together.

Notwithstanding, in specific individuals, incorporating those with celiac illness, gluten narrow-mindedness, or wheat sensitivity, eating gluten can cause side effects going from cerebral pains and bulging to additional serious difficulties like digestive harm.

Albeit some tortilla chips are produced using sans gluten fixings, many individuals keep thinking about whether all tortilla chips are protected to eat on a sans gluten diet.

Tortilla chips gluten free can be produced using wheat or corn. Just the tortilla chips produced using unadulterated corn are without gluten. Most corn tortilla chips contain no gluten fixings, yet you shouldn’t accept that they’re dependable without gluten. Many are dependent upon gluten cross-pollution from shared offices and from the unrefined substances used to make them.

Luckily, there are various producers who make tortilla chips gluten free that are named “sans gluten.” These will be alright for individuals with celiac sickness and non-celiac gluten awareness.

Most Tortilla Chips Are Without Gluten

Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

Tortilla chips are most frequently produced using 100 percent ground corn, which is normally without gluten. They might be produced using white, yellow, or blue assortments of corn.

In any case, a few brands might contain a blend of both corn and wheat flour, meaning they are not sans gluten.

Sans gluten tortilla chips can likewise be made utilizing different grains and vegetables, like chickpeas, cassava, amaranth, teff, lentils, coconut, or yams. I have also written an article on What is Einkorn Flour? Ultimate Guide To Recipes.

Certain Tortilla Chips Contain Gluten

Tortilla chips contain gluten in the event that they are made from wheat, rye, grain, triticale, or wheat-based grains, for example,

  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Durum
  • Wheat berries
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Graham
  • Kamut
  • Einkorn wheat
  • Wheat berries

Multigrain tortilla chips might contain both gluten-containing and without-gluten grains, making perusing fixing names fundamental for individuals who can’t endure gluten.

Additionally, certain individuals with celiac infection, wheat sensitivity, or gluten awareness might be impacted by tortilla chips that contain oats.

Oats are sans gluten, however, they’re in many cases developed close to wheat crops or handled in offices that likewise handle gluten-containing grains, which represents a gamble of cross-pollution.

How to Guarantee Your Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

The most important phase in deciding if tortilla chips contain gluten is to check the fixing mark for gluten or gluten-containing grains.

It’s ideal to search for tortilla chips that are produced using 100 percent corn or another sans gluten grain like rice, chickpea flour, yams, teff, or quinoa.

Some tortilla chips might say “sans gluten” on their bundling, however, this doesn’t ensure there’s no gluten in the item. Cross-tainting is as yet a worry.

As per the Food and Medication Organization’s sans gluten marking guidelines, items that case to be sans gluten should contain under 20 sections for each million (ppm) of gluten.

Moreover, the Food Allergen Naming and Purchaser Security Demonstration expect makers to announce the presence of normal food allergens on item marks.

Wheat is viewed as a significant food allergen and should be recorded on items hence. Notwithstanding, wheat isn’t the main gluten-containing grain, and a “sans wheat” item isn’t really without gluten.

You can likewise contact the item maker to pose inquiries connected with fixings, food handling, and gluten defilement.

Search For Outsider Confirmation no Doubt

Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

To be sure that tortilla chips and different items are without gluten, search for an outsider seal on the bundling that expresses it’s sans gluten.

An outsider certificate implies that the item has been autonomously tried in a research center and meets the necessities to be named without gluten. Outsider testing is led by parties that don’t have a monetary interest in the organization or item.

There are a few outsiders sans gluten names to search for while picking tortilla chips.

NSF Global’s sans gluten confirmation checks that items don’t contain more than 20 ppm of gluten. In the meantime, the Gluten Prejudice Gathering’s affirmed without gluten mark goes further and expects that items don’t contain more than 10 ppm.

The Better Chip

The Better Chip makes five kinds of exemplary tortilla chips — Spinach and Kale, Jalapeño, Beet Cauliflower, and Yam Plantain.

All chips are made in offices ensured sans gluten by the Sans gluten Accreditation Association (GFCO), are checked non-GMO, and are made with ranch new vegetables. Search for them on Amazon and in select general stores.

Cabo Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

This California-based organization produces high-quality tortilla chips that are propelled by Baja, Mexico, and are likewise non-GMO and made with every single normal fixing. Each of the four kinds of Cabo Chips — Unique, Blue Corn, Elote, and Slender and Fresh — are named sans gluten.

Food Ought to Taste Great Tortilla Chips

Food Ought to Taste Great makes an assortment of truly fascinating tortilla chip flavors, including Guacamole, Cheddar, Jalapeño, and Kimchi. The organization’s offices (which additionally make gluten-free potato chips and without-gluten multigrain chips) are guaranteed gluten-free by the GFCO.

Frito-Lay Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

Frito-Lay presently distributes a rundown of items that contain less than 20 sections for every million of gluten. The rundown incorporates a lot of gluten tortilla chip and corn chip choices.

Numerous Tostitos items, including Basically Natural Yellow Corn Chips and Essentially Natural Blue Corn Chips, are viewed as sans gluten. So are some Cheetos, Doritos Just Natural White Cheddar Enhanced Tortilla Chips, Frito’s Unique Corn Chips, and Frito’s Scoops! Corn Chips, and a couple of Sanita’s items.

Use alert while buying Frito-Lay items in the event that you are delicate to cross pollution. As per the organization’s site, a few items are “created on the very line as our items that truly do contain gluten. Albeit the lines are washed between bunches, a slight buildup might stay on the lines. People who are very touchy might be impacted.”

Nursery of Eatin’ Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?

Nursery of Eatin’, a Hain Divine Gathering brand, makes a few assortments of corn chips as well as sans grain tortilla chips produced using natural cassava. Most are presently named without gluten, and that implies they’ll meet the U.S. Food and Medication Organization (FDA) standard of under 20 sections for every million of gluten.

Most of all are created in a plant that likewise processes gluten-containing items, including Nursery of Eatin’s grain and-wheat-containing multi-grain chips. As per Nursery of Eatin’s site, its items are not tried for gluten, including those that are marked without gluten.

The organization proposes a careful survey of the item’s fixing list before you purchase to settle on certain that it’s the ideal decision for you. Your most secure bet is to constantly pick an item that sports a “without gluten” logo.

Pot Brand Tortilla Chips

Pot is confirmed sans gluten by the GFCO, and that implies that its offices are investigated to stick to without-gluten principles. Some of Pot Brand’s items really do contain follow measures of dairy, nonetheless. The organization expresses that it completely cleans its lines after each flavor run, however, there is as yet potential for cross-tainting.

Late July Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

All this organization additionally is without gluten ensured by the GFCO and names its tortilla chips — including the multi-grain assortments — as guaranteed sans gluten. Late July’s tortilla chips are likewise natural and arrived in different flavors, including Ocean Salt, Jalapeño Lime, Nacho Cheddar, Mexican Road Corn, and Nursery Farm.

Mission Food Sources Tortilla Chips

Mission Food sources corn tortilla chips are made with 100 percent corn masa flour and are ensured sans gluten by the GFCO. They are created in a plant that likewise processes wheat tortilla items, nonetheless, as per Mission’s site.

Way Better Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

Way Better Tidbits grows its grain fixings prior to utilizing them to make tortilla chips, which the organization expresses assists with opening the supplements in the corn and different grains it uses and makes them simpler to process.

Every one of the organization’s items (except for the Grew Grain saltines) are ensured without gluten by the GFCO, meaning they contain under 10 sections for each million of gluten. They’re likewise delivered on devoted sans gluten lines.

If you want to read more then watch this video. Corn tortilla chip flavors incorporate Legacy Blue Corn, Chipotle Grill Purple Yam, Avocado Farm, Hot Sriracha, Broiled Poblano and Lime, and Dark Bean and Cooked Garlic. Way Better tortilla chips are accessible for buy on Amazon or in select supermarkets.

Utz’s Tortiyahs! Tortilla Chips

Utz, which makes a few unique kinds of corn tortilla chip items, includes a choice of without gluten choices. Each of the four assortments of Utz’s line of tortilla chips, “Tortiyahs!,” are marked sans gluten.

However they are not affirmed sans gluten, the naming demonstrates that it fulfills the FDA’s guideline of under 20 ppm of gluten. All Utz likewise claims to be straightforward about the fixings on the marks of its items.

Something From Verywell

Cross defilement from gluten fixings found in different items can be a typical occasion in which unadulterated corn tortilla chips wouldn’t be considered absolutely without gluten, regardless of whether the gluten-free marking fulfills the FDA’s guideline of under 20ppm.

It’s ideal to stay away from those brands assuming you are especially delicate to follow a gluten and cross-tainting. If all else fails, consistently choose a brand that has the authority “Confirmed Sans gluten” mark from the GFCO to guarantee that you’re consuming an item that is under 10 ppm.

Moreover, you might wish to keep away from corn tortilla chips served in eateries. These frequently are broiled in a fryer that is imparted to different things that are covered with wheat flour. On the off chance that an eatery guarantees you that it utilizes a committed without gluten fryer (some do), then, at that point, the chips will be ok for you to appreciate.


8-10 corn tortillas
2 teaspoons salt
Avocado oil shower

How to Make Your Own Gluten-Free Tortilla Chips?

You can without much of a stretch make your own sans-gluten tortilla chips by following these means:

Cut 100 percent corn tortillas into triangles.

Shower them with a tablespoon of olive oil and blend.

Spread them out on a baking sheet in a solitary layer.

Prepare at 350°F (176°C) for 5-6 minutes.

Flip the tortillas, sprinkle them with salt, and prepare for another 6-8 minutes until they start to brown.

Eliminate them from the stove to cool.


Most customary tortilla chips are made with corn, which is sans gluten. Nonetheless, some tortilla chips are made utilizing wheat or other gluten-containing grains.

In the event that you are following a sans-gluten diet, check the item bundling for sans-gluten claims, gluten-containing fixings, and allergen postings.

The most effective way to guarantee your tortilla chips don’t contain gluten is to purchase a brand that is confirmed without gluten by an outsider.

Are any tortilla chips sans gluten?

Tortilla chips are most frequently produced using 100 percent ground corn, which is normally sans gluten. They might be produced using white, yellow, or blue assortments of corn. Regardless, a few brands might contain a blend of both corn and wheat flour, meaning they are not without gluten.

Do Tostitos chips have gluten?

Numerous Tostitos items, including Essentially Natural Yellow Corn Chips and Just Natural Blue Corn Chips, are viewed as sans gluten. So are some Cheetos, Doritos Essentially Natural White Cheddar Enhanced Tortilla Chips, Frito’s Unique Corn Chips, and Frito’s Scoops!

Do tortillas have gluten?

Flour tortillas are produced using wheat, which contains gluten⁠ — an aggregate term for some kinds of proteins found in specific grains like wheat, grain, and rye.

Are tortilla chips solid?

Most locally acquired tortilla chips are broiled in oil, meaning an enormous level of their calories is from the oil. Café-style chips are stacked with salt, meaning they can be extremely high in sodium.

Could I at any point utilize flour or sans-grain tortillas?

Indeed! You can utilize any kind of tortilla to make chips. Intently watch the chips in the broiler while baking to guarantee they don’t consume.

More Recipes For You

Please Rate This Post

0 / 5

Your Ratings:

Leave a Comment

You may also like

We independently review everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Discliamer

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More