Hey! Today I will tell you about – is almond milk gluten free. Almond milk has become one of the most loved plant-based kinds of milk on the market in the blink of an eye.
It’s a wonderful alternative to dairy products and can be used in place of milk in many applications. Many love the milk substitute just for its nutty taste!
It can be used in baking, coffee, and sometimes in cooking. We know it is lactose-free, but does it fit a gluten-free diet? Is it safe for those with celiac disease?
What is Almond Milk?
Almonds originally come from the Middle East but have become popular all over the world. In the United States, they are primarily grown in California. The nut is toasted, ground up, and blended with filtered water to turn it into “milk.” Then, it is usually passed through a nut milk bag for a smoother end product.
You may see some Almond milk packaging with “Almond milk” as one word. This is a shortened term for filtered water and almonds. Which is what plain almond milk stems from.
It has a nutty taste but does not taste overwhelmingly like almonds. Unlike homemade almond milk, most manufacturers add vitamins and nutrients to boost the milk alternative’s nutritional value.
Traditional dairy milk is much higher in protein than almond milk, but this shouldn’t be too much if you have enough protein in your meals.
Almond milk has become one of the most loved kinds of nut milk because it is great for those with food allergies and lactose intolerance. It doesn’t contain soy, lactose, gluten, etc.
Remember that most store-bought almond milk brands have added sugar to give it a better flavor. There are plenty of unsweetened almond milk brands if you want to avoid this.
This dairy alternative is also relatively easy to make at home if you want to have more control over what goes into the almond milk.
Is Almond Milk Gluten Free?
Good news! If you wonder if almond milk gluten free, regular almond milk! Almonds are naturally gluten-free; most manufacturers do not have cross-contamination issues with gluten.
However, some flavored almond milk has gluten-containing additives. When buying flavored almond milk, read the label carefully to ensure it’s a safe option.
Most flavored almond milk, but it is better to be safe than sorry! Many almond milk brands also make coconut milk, so give the label a read if you have a coconut allergy.
If you don’t have a tree nut allergy, almond milk is a suitable milk replacement. It’s available in almost all grocery stores, so you won’t have to worry about finding it either! I have written an article on The Best Vanilla Almond Milk – Enjoy Every Day.
Is Almond Milk Healthy?
Kind of Almond milk itself has many vitamins and minerals that have numerous health benefits. One of the main ones is magnesium. This mineral is fantastic for maintaining blood sugar levels.
The milk alternative also has a lot of Vitamin E, which helps lower the chances of strokes and heart disease.
If you’re buying almond milk, try to find one fortified with Vitamin D2. This is an important vitamin in cow’s milk that aids bone health.
Though almond milk has many health benefits, many commercial brands are high in sugar and carbs. Having a high sugar intake can cause health issues down the line.
This isn’t a huge issue if you’re not drinking too much almond milk. But, for those who drink a lot of milk, then it may be best to buy unsweetened almond milk.
Almond milk is gluten-free, so you do not have to worry about drinking it if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance. However, flavored and sweetened almond milk may have gluten-containing additives, so give the label a quick read before purchasing.
Is Store-Bought Almond Milk Gluten Free?
But before you get excited about gluten-free almond milk there are some things to consider when it comes to store-bought almond milk. Even though almond milk is made from almonds, it isn’t always gluten-free when you buy it in the store.
Gluten could be added to the almond milk as a thickener.
The factory where the almond milk is made could also be processed foods that contain gluten. In this instance, cross-contamination is a possibility and companies won’t say that the almond milk is gluten free for liability reasons. You can get more from this video.
How to Serve Gluten Free Almond Milk?
You can use almond milk as a replacement for regular milk in any recipe called for it. I’ve successfully used almond milk instead of regular milk in baking recipes.
It has worked well for me in cupcakes, muffins, scones, and cookies. But you can also use almond milk to bake cakes and other treats. You can also read more about Almond Milk Yogurt – The Perfect Vegan Yogurt to Make.
Almond milk is good in coffee but for the creamiest coffee use homemade or get an almond milk creamer because almond milk can curdle in hot liquids.
1.5 Cup Raw Almonds soaked overnight
4 Medjool Dates pitted
4 C Water
1/8 tsp sea salt
Emulsify all ingredients in a blender.
Pour the mixture into a nut milk bag and squeeze nut milk out of the pulp. Discard almond pulp.
Put in your favorite milk jug and enjoy!
Almond milk is naturally gluten-free, and most commercial brands are gluten-free as well. Give me your opinion in the comment section below what you think about it.
Milk that is seasoned is normally not gluten. While some of them make a point to look at the marks. As a general rule, oat milk isn’t without gluten since oats are in many cases cross defiled with gluten. So remain away except if they’re named gluten-free.
Indeed! Almond Milk is named gluten-free and can consequently be delighted by those on a gluten-free eating regimen.
Indeed! 365 Entire Food sources brand almond milk is named gluten-free.