Home » Health Care » Do You Have Query About Gluten Free Raisin Bran? Explore it

Do You Have Query About Gluten Free Raisin Bran? Explore it

by Asia Shaukat
Published: Last Updated on 226 views

You have ever listened about that oat bran is gluten-free, this is true. But have you heard about gluten-free raisin bran? That is some very interesting information to have. Everyone can speculate that perhaps it does contain not gluten, but this is not the case at all. Gluten-free raisin bran does not exist anymore.

A bowl of breakfast cereal is a common way to kick off the day for many households. Particularly the process of growing up. It may be more difficult to find delectable cereals if you or a member of your family adheres to a gluten-free diet, whether as a result of celiac disease or gluten intolerance; however, there are still a wide variety of options available.

In this piece, you will take a look at the time-honored classic cereal known as raisin bran, why gluten-free raisin bran does not exist, its ingredients, alternatives, and what recipe you can use to make a replacement for this. Therefore, make sure you stay up to date with this article and learn as much as you can about it.

Do You Know What Is Gluten-Free Food?

Gluten is a type of protein that can be found in wheat and several other grains. A gluten-free diet eliminates all foods that contain gluten. Consuming only whole foods that do not contain gluten, such as fruits, vegetables, meat, and eggs, in addition to eating processed gluten-free foods, such as gluten-free bread or pasta, is what it means to be gluten-free.

Gluten is a protein that naturally occurs in certain foods, but it can also be added to foods during the processing stage for texture. It can sometimes be found in foods that you wouldn’t expect to find it in. Gluten can be found in a wide variety of foods and products, including pizza, pasta, cereal, and baked goods.

It can also be found in soy sauce and ice cream, as well as certain medications, beauty products, and dietary supplements, although this is a common misconception, avoiding gluten, does not necessitate cutting out all carbohydrates from one’s diet. Many foods are high in carbohydrates but do not contain gluten. Some examples include rice, potatoes, and beans.

Raisin Bran

Bran from raisins, also known as sultana bran in some nations. It is a breakfast cereal that includes both raisins and bran flakes in its ingredient list. Raisin bran is produced by several different companies and sold under a wide variety of brand names.

Some of the most well-known of these brand names are Kellogg’s Raisin Bran, Total Raisin Bran by General Mills, and Raisin Bran by Post Cereals. The widespread consumption of this well-known breakfast cereal across the United States can be partly attributed to the fact that it is marketed as being high in nutritional value.

Their Ingredients

The following are some of the components that make up raisin bran:

  • Wheat with whole grains
  • Raisins
  • Bran from wheat
  • Sugar
  • Brown sugar syrup
  • Malt flavor
  • Salt
  • Vitamins and minerals of varying types

The vitamin D3 supplementation in the cereal is made from lanolin, which is an animal product; as a result, the cereal cannot be considered a vegan option for breakfast.

Is Raisin Bran Gluten Free?

First and foremost, I have now provided you with some information regarding the raisin bran and its constituent parts. It is simple to determine whether or not raisin bran contains gluten by looking at the ingredients that go into its production. To put your mind at ease, however, I will explain everything to you.

According to the knowledge gained thus far regarding foods that are free of gluten, wheat contains the highest concentration of gluten. According to this information, raisin bran does not appear to be free of gluten. On the back of the package, you’ll find that whole grain wheat is one of the first ingredients.

Because Celiac disease patients and those with gluten sensitivity should not consume this cereal because it contains wheat flour, which contains gluten.

Is There a Cereal With Raisins That Does Not Contain Gluten?

There are many options available to choose from if you are looking for a scrumptious and gluten-free replacement for raisin bran. The following are some of our personal favorites:

Mesa Sunrise with Raisins, Nature’s Path Organic Cereal, Mesa Sunrise

The answer to the question of whether or not there is a raisin cereal that is free of gluten is “yes.” This one, from Nature’s Path, is the one that comes the closest to being a copy of the raisin brand that I have found. A chewy breakfast cereal that is made with corn that has not been genetically modified, flax seeds that are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, and juicy raisins as a topping. Your desire for a hearty, nutritious cereal with raisins can finally be sated with the consumption of this cereal.

Organic Maple Buckwheat Flakes Made by Arrowhead Mills; Gluten-Free Ingredients

You will need to add the raisins to this cereal on your own, but the buckwheat flakes that have been sweetened with maple syrup are so delicious that you won’t mind the extra step.

Great Way to Incorporate Gluten Free Rain Bran Into Your Diet

Even though raisin bran does contain gluten, there are several other ways that you can get your hands on it and still enjoy the delicious raisin bran recipes. If you are not restricted by gluten-free food so you can also try varieties of raisin bran muffins also you can take a look at raisin bran cereal recipes these are all amazing. Also from here, you can get that knowledge about whether raisin bran is healthy or not.

Gluten-Free Raisin Bran Muffin

gluten free raisin bran
image source: pamelasalzaman.com


  • A quarter of a cup of freshly ground flax
  • ¼ cup gluten-free oat or rice bran
  • 1¼ teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 fluid ounce of buttermilk
  • 1 egg or flax egg
  • 1/3 a cup of honey
  • ⅓ cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 small banana, mashed
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour, such as Pamela’s, King Arthur, or Bob’s Red Mill’s 1 to 1
  • A half cup of quinoa flakes or oats that only take a few minutes to cook
  • AA couple of tablespoons’ worth of hemp seeds (I used 3 T)
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon (I used 1 teaspoon)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup organic raisins
  • Maple Glaze Ingredients:
  • Sifted powdered sugar equivalent to 6 tablespoons
  • 2 Tablespoons pure maple syrup


  • Turn the oven temperature up to 350 degrees
  • Mix fresh ground flax, rice bran, baking soda, and buttermilk to make a starter mixer. Let it rest for 10 minutes
  • Egg, honey, coconut oil, and banana should all be thoroughly combined in a sizable bowl
  • After it has had a chance to rest, the starter should be added to the bowl containing the wet ingredients
  • Stir until combined
  • Mix the flour, quinoa flakes, hemp seeds, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl using a whisk
  • After the batter has been smoothed out, fold the raisins into it
  • Put the batter in a muffin tin that has been greased, but fill each cup only three-quarters of the way
  • Bake in the oven for 12 to 18 minutes, or until a clean knife blade emerges when inserted
  • While the muffins are baking, prepare the maple glaze by combining the sugar and maple syrup in a bowl with a whisk until the mixture is smooth. It is going to be dense
  • As soon as the muffins have been removed from the oven, you should wait for them to only slightly cool before topping them with the Maple Glaze



  • As a substitute for buttermilk, you can make soured milk by combining 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar with 1 cup of the milk of your choice to get the desired volume
  • Honey can be replaced with a third of a cup of coconut sugar
  • Substitution for banana: ¼ cup applesauce
  • Fresh berries or currants from Zante can stand in for raisins in any recipe

Raisin Oatmeal Cookie Gluten Free

gluten free raisin bran



  • 1 cup unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1 and a half cups of dark brown sugar (packed)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 and a quarter cups of all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 2 3/4 cups oats suitable for quick cooking (gluten-free)
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon powder
  • 14 milligrams of ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup of walnuts, chopped very finely (optional)


  • Prepare two baking sheets by lining them with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. Set aside
  • Put the butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar into a medium bowl and mix well. About a minute should be spent using a mixer to beat the ingredients on medium speed until they are thoroughly combined
  • After adding the eggs and vanilla extract, continue beating the mixture until it is completely smooth, which should take about 30 seconds
  • In a bowl, combine the gluten-free flour, oats, spices, baking soda, and salt
  • While beating at a low speed and scraping the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as necessary, combine all of the ingredients until they are completely incorporated
  • Mix in the chopped walnuts and raisins before serving
  • Turn the oven up to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Make 30 balls out of the cookie dough, using approximately 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough for each, and arrange them on the baking sheets with a distance of 1 1/2 inches between each ball
    Put the sheets in the freezer for about ten to fifteen minutes. Another option is to freeze the dough balls on a large plate or a small tray, and then transfer them to the baking sheets after they have been frozen
  • Cook the cookies on the middle rack of the oven for 15 to 17 minutes, or until they are puffed and golden brown around the edges
  • Make sure the cookies are cooked all the way through. Take the dish out of the oven, or add more cooking time as required
  • After allowing the cookies to sit on the baking sheets undisturbed for five to ten minutes, move them to a wire rack to finish cooling before serving

Who Should Follow a Diet That is Free of Gluten?

Those Who Suffer from Celiac Disease | Gluten-Free Raisin Bran

People who have celiac disease, an autoimmune response to gluten that causes the body to attack the small intestine, must follow a diet that does not contain gluten. Symptoms of celiac disease include abdominal pain, nausea, bloating, and diarrhea.

People who have celiac disease are unable to tolerate any form of gluten and are required to consume a diet that is free of gluten for the rest of their lives. If you have celiac disease and consume gluten by accident, you will most likely experience the same symptoms as you did before you eliminated gluten from your diet.

Individuals Who Are Sensitive To Gluten

A non-celiac gluten sensitivity, also known as gluten intolerance, is another condition that can prompt a person to remove gluten from their diet. According to Rajagopal, “We do not have a clear definition for gluten intolerance nor a clear way to explain it.” Moreover, “we do not have a clear way to explain it.” “It is common knowledge that some individuals become ill after consuming something that is contaminated with gluten,”

It is essential to avoid making the automatic assumption that gastrointestinal irritation is brought on by gluten. If you believe you may have a gluten intolerance, Rajagopal suggests consulting a medical professional as well as a registered dietitian to get to the bottom of your symptoms.

If gluten is the cause of the irritation, you might see an improvement in symptoms like those listed below if you avoid gluten.

  • Bloating
  • Either diarrhea or constipation
  • Fatigue
  • Gas
  • An ache in the stomach

Those whose immune systems react negatively to wheat

Those who are sensitive to wheat should stay away from certain foods that contain gluten but not because of the gluten itself. Wheat causes an immune response in their bodies, which can cause symptoms such as a skin rash, a headache, or sneezing.

Some people are also allergic to wheat. They are not gluten intolerant and can continue to consume gluten from other grains such as barley and rye.


Is raisin bran gluten-free?

No, because raisin bran has the main ingredient wheat and wheat is full of gluten. In this case, raisin bran is not gluten-free.

Can going gluten-free help you lose weight?

Gluten-free dieters lose weight because they avoid processed foods and refined carbohydrates that contain gluten. Stopping gluten to lose weight requires portion control, regular exercise, and a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and lean proteins.

Is it good to try a gluten-free diet if you do not have celiac disease?

Gluten-free diets may deprive you of whole grains, fiber, and micronutrients. If you have heart disease or diabetes, eat enough whole grains. Whole grains regulate blood sugar and cholesterol. Gluten-containing foods contain B vitamins, iron, and magnesium.


Above all, it is now clear that raisin bran is not gluten-free because it has the make component that is wheat bran or whole wheat grain. It is specified that whole wheat grain or wheat bran is full of gluten.

So, if you have any allergy related to gluten then please avoid wheat products and also with raisin bran. If you like the taste of it so you can go with its alternative. Follow more to get increase your knowledge.

Please Rate This Post

0 / 5

Your Ratings:

Leave a Comment

You may also like

We independently review everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Discliamer

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More